Creating RAW imgaes

Forum on data recovery, file unerase, disk unformat, and RAID reconstruction.
Forum rules
Discussion on the R-Studio, R-Studio for Mac, R-Studio for Linux, R-Linux, and R-Undelete software

Creating RAW imgaes

Postby alex4478 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 12:33 am

Hi,

Would a spanned volume in OSX work just as well for creating an image of the problem drive as a RAID0?

My problem drive is 3TB, my two spare disks are 2TB and 1.5TB (3.5TB).

I have been advised by support to create a RAW image using diskutility or ddutility.

Many thanks for any replies and help, I have emailed support but figured they may not work weekends.
alex4478
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:10 am

Re: Creating RAW imgaes

Postby Corsari » Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:35 am

Sure

One disk image is just a file which size is equal than the size of the drive you clone.

So you need a partition/volume of a size large enough to contain such file, no matter how that volume rely on.

BUT BEWARE cloning drives...

Read my hints and tips on this argument. Check out my signature at bottom of this post

Unless you don't care too much about your data.
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]
Corsari
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: Creating RAW imgaes

Postby alex4478 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:12 am

Thanks for the reply.

Is ddutility thorough enough to copy absolutely everything?
alex4478
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:10 am

Re: Creating RAW imgaes

Postby Corsari » Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:16 am

If the drive is healthy, yes.

Have you checked SMART values of the drive?

Read my guides

Links are in the signature at bottom
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]
Corsari
 
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: Creating RAW imgaes

Postby alex4478 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:36 am

The SMART values are the wrong end but low enough to make the all the status GREEN.
alex4478
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:10 am

Re: Creating RAW imgaes

Postby alex4478 » Sat Dec 10, 2016 1:19 pm

Well I knew it wouldn't be easy, I had started the copy and then got this error message

(com.apple.diskutility error 3.)

And after I got a "status 5" message.

Any ideas what happened there?

I did it within the disk utility.

Would doing from the startup/OS X recovery disk make any difference?
alex4478
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 11:10 am


Return to Data Recovery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest