Delete to Recycling Bin

Forum on data and privacy protection and encryption, file and disk wipe, computer cleaning, and removing traces of user activity
Forum rules
Discussion on the R-Wipe & Clean and R-Crypto software

Delete to Recycling Bin

Postby greyowl » Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:25 pm

I am wondering if it is possible to set R-Wipe&Clean so that when it clears files they go to the recycling bin.
This would be an added safeguard if you found you made a mistake and wanted to retrieve them.
If this option is not available, please consider it for future upgrades.
greyowl
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:13 pm

Re: Delete to Recycling Bin

Postby Alt » Sat Dec 06, 2008 12:54 pm

Frankly, I don't quite clear understand what you mean.
If you want to wipe files in the Recycle Bin, you may include it in the wiping and cleaning task. Or you may wipe the files from Windows explorer. But the files will gone for good. If you want not to wipe those files, you may exclude it from the wiping and cleaning task. But the files will be accessible in Recycle Bin.
Alt
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm

Re: Delete to Recycling Bin

Postby greyowl » Sat Dec 06, 2008 7:49 pm

Thanks for the information and sorry for the confusion.

I am referring to when you clear thing from your computer with R-Wipe & Clean, such as temp files, cookies, etc. Instead of them being deleted or wiped, I am wanting them to be moved to the Recycling Bin. Then, I would leave them there for a while to see if everything continued to work Ok and then later permanently delete them from the Recycling Bin.

This could be an added safety measure.

Does this make sense?
greyowl
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:13 pm

Re: Delete to Recycling Bin

Postby Alt » Sun Dec 07, 2008 8:10 am

Well, here you have a point. But most likely that will be too confusing for a regualr user.
Alt
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm

Re: Delete to Recycling Bin

Postby greyowl » Sun Dec 07, 2008 10:49 am

Thanks for the perspective.

Maybe, this could be added as an advanced option. I use another app called ClearProg which has this as an option which is simply set in the main options panel. With R-Wipe & Clean, you could have 3 options instead of 2, ie "Move to Recycling Bin", "Delete", and "Wipe".

Could this suggestion be passed on to the development team to consider?

Thanks
greyowl
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:13 pm

Re: Delete to Recycling Bin

Postby Alt » Mon Dec 08, 2008 1:18 pm

Actually, you can do some things right now. For example, you may preserve cookies from certain sites. Go to Internet -> Cookies, and move the necessary cookies to Favorites.
You may see cookie's content by clicking it.
Alt
Site Moderator
 
Posts: 2199
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm

Re: Delete to Recycling Bin

Postby greyowl » Mon Dec 08, 2008 1:40 pm

Thanks for the information which is quite helpful.
greyowl
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 3:13 pm


Return to Data and privacy protection

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests