Page 1 of 1

Have i got this right?

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:06 am
by alex4478
Hi,

This is not the only post I've on here about my current issue, but thought that I'd make separate topic as they have different aspects to them.

Apologies if I have this wrong.

So to the matter in hand ...

I'm trying to recover the data (only copy of family photos etc) from a 3TB external disk.

I have spanned a 1.5 and 2.0TB to form a 3.5TB drive and the two disks are sat in a dual SATA USB3 docking station.

I used this command in terminal

Code: Select all

sudo dd if=/dev/rdisk1 of=/dev/rdisk4 bs=1024 conv=noerror,sync
And have been monitoring the results with

Code: Select all

sudo kill -INFO 835
In another terminal window. I have then been copying the results into a spreadsheet and I'm seeing that the amount of data being transferred is rising.

So I guess so far so good.

My concern and I'm after confirmation that I'm doing the right thing, is that once I have the dd clone of the 3TB disk then R-Studio will look at the 3.5TB drive and be able to recover any of the data (hidden by the way formatting works) from the platters.

The 3TB disk created issues for R-Studio because of the amount of I/O errors generated. I have changed the cables and caddy for the 3TB drive and the same thing happened, I/O errors.

Re: Have i got this right?

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:40 pm
by Corsari
Read the hints in my signature here at bottom

Cloning is not the right solution if you don't diagnose the drive in advance.

Cloning with a software process is the wrong solution if at the previous step, the hdd diagnose (SMART) reports the drive as bad.

Kind regards

Re: Have i got this right?

Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2016 11:11 am
by Alt
alex4478 wrote: My concern and I'm after confirmation that I'm doing the right thing, is that once I have the dd clone of the 3TB disk then R-Studio will look at the 3.5TB drive and be able to recover any of the data (hidden by the way formatting works) from the platters.
If this is a raw image of the HDD, R-Studio will be able to load it as an image and do all the necessary operations as it were the original HDD.