Recovering Mac files w/Windows 64bit version of R-Studio

A forum on data recovery using the professional data recovery software R-STUDIO.
WebGuy

Recovering Mac files w/Windows 64bit version of R-Studio

Post by WebGuy » Tue Mar 08, 2011 2:04 am

Hello All,

I have searched the forums but have found nothing regarding my questions. I have recovered dozens of Windows based file systems and a few Linux drives with R-Studio, but since this is my first attempt at recovering Mac files I have some questions.

Here's my situation: I am running the Windows version of R-Studio on a Windows 7 Pro 64bit OS machine. I am attempting recovery of files from a Mac file system on an External Western Digital 1TB "My Book for Mac". The drive has been removed from it's enclosure and placed in a hot-swap SATA "tray-less" drive tray. During all my previous recoveries, I've noticed that file extensions are pervasively utilized in the scanning and recovery processes. Macintosh does not use extensions. Once the scan is finished, how do I know what files types I am looking for and what to recover with no extensions?

Are there some settings I need to tweak in the "Scan" dialog? e.g. Do I turn off everything except HFS in the File System section? Will it work with the default settings?

The particular job I am working on right now is a photographer's external drive which contains RAW image files and JPEGs. My initial scan shows several text files, very few JPEGs, lots of GZIP archives (there should be none) and I am not even sure what to look for regarding the RAW files. There is 10 hours left on the scan (currently at 24%) which is going smoothly aside from a dozen or so CRC errors very early in the scan (first GB or so, none since).