Complete Newbie

Disk backup and restore, partition imaging and cloning, and drive copy using R-Drive Image.
Forum rules
Discussion on the R-Drive Image software
XrayDoc88

Complete Newbie

Post by XrayDoc88 » Wed Apr 05, 2023 10:54 pm

I just started the 30 day free trial of R-Drive Image. I don't like the auto generated file name that the program inserted for my C drive. It calls it HDD2. Is there any problem changing file names manually before the backup begins? Does that cause problems with restores to HDD2 if the names don't match?

Also, I'm curious about the approximate % of compression that occurs using the RDR file format. I noticed there was a slider and it obviously depends on the source material. But is the compression enough to use RDR, or should I just use VHDX instead? I don't really plan on encrypting nor adding passwords to my backups.

Finally, do you prefer differential over incremental backups? Do you throw in a full back up every so often?

Thanks!

Alt
Site Moderator

Re: Complete Newbie

Post by Alt » Fri Apr 07, 2023 2:16 pm

XrayDoc88 wrote:
Wed Apr 05, 2023 10:54 pm
I don't like the auto generated file name that the program inserted for my C drive. It calls it HDD2. Is there any problem changing file names manually before the backup begins?
No problem, you may name the file as you like.
XrayDoc88 wrote:
Does that cause problems with restores to HDD2 if the names don't match?
No, that doesn't
XrayDoc88 wrote:
But is the compression enough to use RDR, or should I just use VHDX instead? I don't really plan on encrypting nor adding passwords to my backups.
VHDX doesn't support compression.
XrayDoc88 wrote:
Finally, do you prefer differential over incremental backups? Do you throw in a full back up every so often?