RAID0 Recovery Help

Discussions on using the professional data recovery program R-STUDIO for RAID re-construction, NAS recovery, and recovery of various disk and volume managers: Windows storage spaces, Apple volumes, and Linux Logical Volume Manager.
hopeful_dingdong

RAID0 Recovery Help

Post by hopeful_dingdong » Tue Jun 15, 2021 6:50 pm

Hello,

Hoping someone can help me. Yes, I'm a newb. I had a drive array in an external eSATA port-multiplied enclosure with four 1TB SATA drives (WD Caviar Green, if that matters). I got it hooked up to my Mac via PCIe-to-Thunderbolt chassis and could read the array as a MacOS RAID0 disk. I tried copying my files over to a new external drive. It failed any time I left the computer for a while. (dumb-thing number 1: I should have checked my Mac power savings settings, but oh well).

So, I popped the drives in a USB-based enclosure, but (dumb-thing number 2) I didn't realize it was a hardware based enclosure, so it overwrote the RAID partition info on the drives, so now they were no longer recognized as a RAID Array by Mac. I did notice this quickly, and the drive activity LED indicators didn't blink for more than a few seconds on boot-up, so I don't think it did more than overwrite the boot partitions.

Then, I put the drives back in the original enclosure, fired up R-Studio and made "byte-for-byte" uncompressed disk images of 3 out of 4 of them. Drive number 4 would constantly report errors when trying to do so, so I loaded up Disk Drill, which seemingly made it past whatever was hanging up R-Studio, and made a "byte-for-byte" .DMG backup.