Cortana in Windows 10 v2004

A place to discuss data and privacy protection, file and disk wipe, computer cleaning, and removing traces of user activity with R-Wipe & Clean.
Forum rules
Discussion on the R-Wipe & Clean and R-Crypto software
biker
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:27 am

Cortana in Windows 10 v2004

Post by biker » Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:56 am

After updating my Windows 10 to version 2004, R-Wipe & Clean doesn't detect Cortana, that is, Cortana is not visible in the Program Traces.
But Cortana is still present in the system and, obviously, as before, it can create enough junk on the disk.

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2594
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Cortana in Windows 10 v2004

Post by Alt » Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:27 pm

You may check that Cortana is enabled in the Customize panel.

marlin
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 7:56 pm

Re: Cortana in Windows 10 v2004

Post by marlin » Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:18 pm

Alt wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:27 pm
You may check that Cortana is enabled in the Customize panel.
It's impossible to tick Cortana in the Customize window, it is inactive and is displayed in gray.
In this window on the right there is such text: The grayed items are not installed on your computer.

In Windows 10 version 2004 Cortana has become a standalone application.
Before this update, it was a component of the system.
Thus, it seems that R-Wipe & Clean does not yet support all the new features and enhancements of Windows 10 version 2004.
Although I have not found other problems.

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2594
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Cortana in Windows 10 v2004

Post by Alt » Sat Jun 20, 2020 2:33 pm

marlin wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:18 pm
In Windows 10 version 2004 Cortana has become a standalone application.
Before this update, it was a component of the system.
We're working on this problem. Thanks for reporting!

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2594
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Cortana in Windows 10 v2004

Post by Alt » Wed Jul 01, 2020 3:47 pm

This new build R-Wipe & Clean 20.0.2282 fixes the problem.

Post Reply