Recovering data from a LACIE 4BIG QUADRA

Discussions on using the professional data recovery program R-STUDIO for RAID re-construction, NAS recovery, and recovery of various disk and volume managers: Windows storage spaces, Apple volumes, and Linux Logical Volume Manager.
gacpac
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:49 am

Recovering data from a LACIE 4BIG QUADRA

Post by gacpac » Tue Apr 15, 2014 3:02 pm

Hi,

i know that lacie use propietary hardware sometimes but now i have a RAID 0 with a failing drive, still i can access the data but when recovering some files the hard drive begins slowly and crash.

It's on HFS+ fs Can R-Studio do something with this? i mean connecting the drives to a motherboard and trying to recognize partitions. Some raid systems are proprietary so i don't wanna screw the things taking those drives out of the enclosure.

Any answer can help

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Recovering data from a LACIE 4BIG QUADRA

Post by Alt » Wed Apr 16, 2014 8:56 am

gacpac wrote:Hi,

i know that lacie use propietary hardware sometimes but now i have a RAID 0 with a failing drive, still i can access the data but when recovering some files the hard drive begins slowly and crash.
Looks like a hardware problem with the drive. Better go to a professional data recovery specialist.
gacpac wrote:Hi,
It's on HFS+ fs Can R-Studio do something with this? i mean connecting the drives to a motherboard and trying to recognize partitions. Some raid systems are proprietary so i don't wanna screw the things taking those drives out of the enclosure.
Unfortunately, there're only two options - to go to a professional or to take the drives out, connect them to the motherboard, and image the failing drive. If you use R-Studio's latest version, you may check its SMART info. But everything is on your own risk.
I recommend you the first option.

gacpac
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:49 am

Re: Recovering data from a LACIE 4BIG QUADRA

Post by gacpac » Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:42 am

Well,

Actually i have recovered some raid systems doing that but now as i know that LACIE is proprietary on some drives i want to know if i can take out the drives and try the recovery process out of the enclosure.

It's not complicated at all, what i'm scared it's because i haven't tried with LACIE

Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: Recovering data from a LACIE 4BIG QUADRA

Post by Corsari » Thu May 15, 2014 1:54 am

@gacpac

how is it ended the quadra case?

thank you
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

gacpac
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2014 7:49 am

Re: Recovering data from a LACIE 4BIG QUADRA

Post by gacpac » Thu May 15, 2014 10:03 am

Corsari wrote:@gacpac

how is it ended the quadra case?

thank you
Sorry i didn't understand you clearly but this is the model

http://www.lacie.com/download/datasheet ... dra_en.pdf

Post Reply