Parition recovery on an expanded raid volume

A forum on data recovery using the professional data recovery software R-STUDIO.
KhurramFHassan
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:38 am

Parition recovery on an expanded raid volume

Post by KhurramFHassan » Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:45 am

I am trying to recover the first partition on my raid 5 volume (the raid volume has 3 NTFS partitions). It was lost when I was expanding the raid volume from a 3 disk setup to a 4 disk setup. I left it overnight for the volume expansion but Windows 10 apparently restarted the PC automatically sometime during the night. The raid volume has since expanded without any errors but the first NTFS partition is no longer detected in windows (the last 2 NTFS partitions are present). Will R-Studio be able to detect the volume and allow me to recover files from it? For the record, the raid volume is not a boot disk as I boot from an SSD that is not on the raid controller.

Thanks

Data-Medics
Posts: 169
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:13 am
Location: Providence, RI USA
Contact:

Re: Parition recovery on an expanded raid volume

Post by Data-Medics » Sat Jul 07, 2018 9:18 am

Half rebuilt RAID arrays are a real mess to recover from. Most likely at this point half the data is in on 3 disks and half of it is striped across 4. It likely only shows as a completely expanded set because the controller probably updated the metadata when it started the process.

I highly doubt any automatic detection will help. It'll probably take a very advanced manual reconstruction to get good results. It might be best to seek out a professional for this one.

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2387
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Parition recovery on an expanded raid volume

Post by Alt » Mon Jul 09, 2018 10:03 am

KhurramFHassan wrote:
Sat Jul 07, 2018 5:45 am
Will R-Studio be able to detect the volume and allow me to recover files from it? For the record, the raid volume is not a boot disk as I boot from an SSD that is not on the raid controller.
?
I'd give R-Studio a try. You may do that in its demo mode without purchasing the software. In this mode it'll perform all necessary operation, except saving recovered files.
About the course of actions.
I'd first create a virtual RAID5 with the old setup and check it consistency Checking RAID Consistency to see whether some remnants of the old setup is present or not. If yes, I'd create a region of that area and scan it for the lost partition or at worst for raw files.
If not, I'd create the new setup and check it for consistency, too. That will help me to understand the area where the data is corrupted.

Post Reply