G-Raid enclosure died

Discussions on using the professional data recovery program R-STUDIO for RAID re-construction, NAS recovery, and recovery of various disk and volume managers: Windows storage spaces, Apple volumes, and Linux Logical Volume Manager.
Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: G-Raid enclosure died

Post by Corsari » Tue Jul 12, 2016 6:23 am

That's another story
Strage idea to keep this opportunity accessible somewhere else.
Interesting info

Unfortunately we use propertary softwares to destripe the RAIDs so we never dive into this "hidden" option

Maybe sooner or later it will be necessary so thank you
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: G-Raid enclosure died

Post by Alt » Tue Jul 12, 2016 7:16 am

Data-Medics wrote:They can all be done, you just have to know how to manually specify the stripe size as it's not one of the default ones. :lol:
Can you share this sacred knowledge with us, can't you?

Data-Medics
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:13 am
Location: Providence, RI USA
Contact:

Re: G-Raid enclosure died

Post by Data-Medics » Tue Jul 12, 2016 11:44 am

Alt wrote:
Data-Medics wrote:They can all be done, you just have to know how to manually specify the stripe size as it's not one of the default ones. :lol:
Can you share this sacred knowledge with us, can't you?
It's a 512-byte single sector stripe size they use, which just needs to be manually typed in. I've submitted this as a feature request in the past, but it's been ignored.

Post Reply