Broken RAID 0 on Mac OS X

Discussions on using the professional data recovery program R-STUDIO for RAID re-construction, NAS recovery, and recovery of various disk and volume managers: Windows storage spaces, Apple volumes, and Linux Logical Volume Manager.
dummy
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:43 pm

Broken RAID 0 on Mac OS X

Post by dummy » Sun Apr 15, 2012 4:17 pm

I´m trying to figure out a way to repair a Software RAID 0 which I accidently resolved via diskutility. The disks are untouched and found by diskutil as follows:


diskutil list
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *2.0 TB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_RAID_Offline 2.0 TB disk0s2
3: Apple_Boot Boot OSX 134.2 MB disk0s3
/dev/disk1
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *1.0 TB disk1
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1
2: Apple_HFS CK 999.9 GB disk1s2
/dev/disk2
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *2.0 TB disk2
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk2s1
2: Apple_RAID_Offline 2.0 TB disk2s2
3: Apple_Boot Boot OSX 134.2 MB disk2s3

diskutil listraid
No AppleRAID sets found


The RAID disks are found and marked offline, is there any chance to put them together again?

Today I tried R-Studio Demo. No matter what block size and number of rows it always finds the same amount of data.
It shows the original structure but all indicated original folders files say 0 Bytes. They also have a simple Data icon.
Data files seem to be of correct size.

Before I buy the software I would like to be sure not to recover empty files.

I tried to add a screenshot here, but it didn´t work.

I appreciate any suggestions. Thanks!

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Broken RAID 0 on Mac OS X

Post by Alt » Mon Apr 16, 2012 7:32 am

If there are some large pictures on the RAID, try to preview them by double-clicking the files.

dummy
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2012 6:43 pm

Re: Broken RAID 0 on Mac OS X

Post by dummy » Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:53 am

Thanks for replying. My problem is, that folders appear as files with 0Bytes. R-Studio does not recognize them as folders.

Post Reply