ATTO RAID and block-order

Discussions on using the professional data recovery program R-STUDIO for RAID re-construction, NAS recovery, and recovery of various disk and volume managers: Windows storage spaces, Apple volumes, and Linux Logical Volume Manager.
thezen
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:15 pm

ATTO RAID and block-order

Post by thezen » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:23 pm

I'm trying to recover RAID5 volume created by ATTO R380 with R-Tools mac.
Does somebody knows what's the block-order of ATTO RAID?
ATTO's tech support says don't know.
And about block-size, there is only two size that 512B and 4KB setting when create RAID volume.
So block-size must be either one, correct?

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: ATTO RAID and block-order

Post by Alt » Wed Jun 13, 2012 3:17 am

The file system is HFS (Mac)?
thezen wrote:And about block-size, there is only two size that 512B and 4KB setting when create RAID volume.
So block-size must be either one, correct?
There must be more options in the drop-down box for the block size.

thezen
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: ATTO RAID and block-order

Post by thezen » Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:40 pm

Alt wrote:The file system is HFS (Mac)?
thezen wrote:And about block-size, there is only two size that 512B and 4KB setting when create RAID volume.
So block-size must be either one, correct?
There must be more options in the drop-down box for the block size.
No, ATTO R380 is Hardware RAID card and has only 512b and 4KB block size for creating RAID volume.
And there is no block size option to format Hardware RAID volume as regular volume under Disk Utility.

thezen
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: ATTO RAID and block-order

Post by thezen » Thu Jun 14, 2012 2:41 pm

And yes, It's HFS+ volume.

thezen
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: ATTO RAID and block-order

Post by thezen » Sat Jun 16, 2012 3:02 pm

I got it!
The thing ATTO called "interleave size" was what R-Tools called "block size".
I thought block size means sector size.
And "Left Asynchronous (Continuous)" seems to work with ATTO Raid volume as "block order".
Now I'm trying scan phase. Let's wait and see what happens.

thezen
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: ATTO RAID and block-order

Post by thezen » Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:04 pm

Nope, still no luck.
I can see the directory tree on scan result.
But all of recovered file can not be opened.
wrong block size or block order??

ATTO is one most popular RAID card maker, still no one knows how to fix?

thezen
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:15 pm

Re: ATTO RAID and block-order

Post by thezen » Sat Jun 23, 2012 4:23 am

Still researching.

ATTO R380 uses Intel IOP348 chip.
Seems most of Intel chip uses Left-Synchronous(Standard) layout.

I tried recover data on another RAID volume(not broken one) with Left-Synchronous(Standard) layout.
And I was able to recover 10GB big Quicktime movie, which is impossible to recover if I use wrong layout.

But broken RAID volume's condition getting worse.
I'm gonna make volume Image file this weekend. before It become totally unreadable.

Post Reply