NAS RAID5 recovery

Discussions on using the professional data recovery program R-STUDIO for RAID re-construction, NAS recovery, and recovery of various disk and volume managers: Windows storage spaces, Apple volumes, and Linux Logical Volume Manager.
nasz
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:02 am

NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by nasz » Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:08 am

I have a Thecus n5500 - 5x2TB RAID 5 NAS. Over the weekend I rebooted the unit and it lost the RAID. So I'm trying to get the data back!

To do this I'm trying a demo version of R-Studio - but when I connect to the unit over the network to deploy the agent I get the following error:

Connecting to 192.168.1.202 failed

I don't have enough spare drives to clone the drives in the unit. Nor do I have enough drive space on my Windows 7 PC to create images. I could mount each drive physically in my Windows PC, but not sure how that will help me access my data (over 30 years of photos and home videos)

Any ideas on how I can see the drives?

nasz
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:02 am

Re: NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by nasz » Tue Sep 10, 2013 1:19 am

Another question:

Using the R-Studio demo version, I did a Scan of the drive and can see some of my data - which I assume I could click on 'recover' to get back.

Can I recover my files directly from this drive, or do I need to create a virtual RAID? I also have a lot of video files of 8-24Gb to recover.

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by Alt » Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:29 am

Can you provide me with a screenshot of the Drives panel in R-Studio with the NAS drive?

nasz
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:02 am

Re: NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by nasz » Thu Sep 12, 2013 6:51 am

URL to image (file was rather large)

http://www.lunicus.org/download/temp/Image1.png

I started cloning the 5 drives, though drive 2 kept coming up with 'Media was removed' error. Just in process of cloning drive 3.

Thanks for any help

nasz
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:02 am

Re: NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by nasz » Sun Sep 15, 2013 1:24 am

Cloned 4 of the 5 drives - Drive 2 kept coming up with 'media was removed'.

Now I am attempting to find the MBR on each drive using the details from http://www.r-tt.com/Articles/Finding_RA ... ndex.shtml. Am using the hex address shown on the website, hopefully this is relevant? Must admit, I feel like I'm walking around in the dark. Very slow progress - but at least I'm moving forward.

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by Alt » Mon Sep 16, 2013 10:36 am

I think that the device has another partition scheme: GUID Partition Table (GPT), as the resulting volume exceeds the 2TB limit for MBR.

Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by Corsari » Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:45 pm

@ nasz: have you solved the issue?

Cor
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

nasz
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:02 am

Re: NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by nasz » Wed Sep 25, 2013 1:21 am

Alas no - still attempting recovery.

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by Alt » Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:40 am

Try our new version of R-Studio, it can find RAID parameters automatically. At least, the RAID offset.

nasz
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:02 am

Re: NAS RAID5 recovery

Post by nasz » Thu Sep 26, 2013 5:25 am

Thanks downloaded. Quick question, I imaged the 5x 2TB drives using R-Studio compressed image. Though someone at work tells me that the compressed image will not work. The only problem is I don't have 10Tb free to do a byte-to-byte image. So will I be able to recover from compressed images?

Post Reply