How to connect R-Studio on a remote disk

A forum on data recovery using the professional data recovery software R-STUDIO.
jlfm

How to connect R-Studio on a remote disk

Post by jlfm » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:42 am

I've an issue with a remote disk on a internet box.
The HD is formated as NTFS (Unix version) but not attached to a "computer".
I can access this HD with \\freebox\HD, or \\ipadress\HD thru W7 explorer, but not able to connect within R-Studio.

Is it possible ?

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: How to connect R-Studio on a remote disk

Post by Alt » Wed Jun 14, 2017 12:40 pm

Most likely you'll have to get this disk and connect it directly to a computer with R-Studio installed. Read this FAQ point for details. It's about a NAS device, but all this is applicable to any remote device: I wish to recover data from a NAS storage. Is R-Studio Network a solution for me?

Data-Medics
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:13 am
Location: Providence, RI USA
Contact:

Re: How to connect R-Studio on a remote disk

Post by Data-Medics » Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:44 pm

Yes, you need to have actual block access to the device. A network share such as you're using only allows file level access. So it's impossible to scan sectors directly w/o block access. You need physical access to the disk or at least for the disk to be connected to a computer running an OS that R-Studio Agent supports. I think you're misunderstanding what the "network" version can do.

Post Reply