Converting .arc to .rdr archives

Disk backup and restore, partition imaging and cloning, and drive copy using R-Drive Image.
Forum rules
Discussion on the R-Drive Image software
bkerouan

Converting .arc to .rdr archives

Post by bkerouan » Mon Feb 25, 2013 5:55 am

Hello,

I use R-DriveImage on a daily basis and find it really good. I was wondering if it was possible to convert my old .arc backups to .rdr new format ?

Whille I could do it in two steps now (restore the .arc to a disk, then rebackup the disk to .rdr), it would be quite time-consuming, and I would loose some metadata such as original backup time and more.

Additionally, an import-export for other media formats yould also be quite valuable (for example : dd/raw, .vhd or even .e01).

Regards,

Bruno Kerouanton.

PS : thanks for the Realtek Gigabit interface support in your latest version, much appreciated !

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Converting .arc to .rdr archives

Post by Alt » Mon Feb 25, 2013 11:25 am

I don't think that's worth doing. R-Drive Image is going to understand the old format even with following new versions.

bkerouan

Re: Converting .arc to .rdr archives

Post by bkerouan » Tue Feb 26, 2013 5:17 am

I do have several very old backup archives made with R-DriveImage, in ".arc" format, that newer versions of R-DriveImage (and also R-Studio) cannot open, since the internal format has probably changed. This request was to ensure I wouldn't have to keep several versions of R-DriveImage.

Thanks for your answer.

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Converting .arc to .rdr archives

Post by Alt » Tue Feb 26, 2013 6:59 am

bkerouan wrote:I do have several very old backup archives made with R-DriveImage, in ".arc" format, that newer versions of R-DriveImage (and also R-Studio) cannot open, since the internal format has probably changed. This request was to ensure I wouldn't have to keep several versions of R-DriveImage.

Thanks for your answer.
You won't, I promise.

Post Reply