RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Discussions on using the professional data recovery program R-STUDIO for RAID re-construction, NAS recovery, and recovery of various disk and volume managers: Windows storage spaces, Apple volumes, and Linux Logical Volume Manager.
Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Corsari » Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:30 am

Hello,

I'm trying out this software and I do notice a strange behavior.

I had setup a RAID with a custom parity layout (80 lines raid5 for delay 16).

1 2 3 4 PD
5 6 7 8 PD
9 10 11 12 PD
13 14 15 16 PD
17 18 19 20 PD
21 22 23 24 PD
25 26 27 28 PD
29 30 31 32 PD
33 34 35 36 PD
37 38 39 40 PD
41 42 43 44 PD
45 46 47 48 PD
49 50 51 52 PD
53 54 55 56 PD
57 58 59 60 PD
61 62 63 64 PD
66 67 68 PD 65
70 71 72 PD 69
74 75 76 PD 73
78 79 80 PD 77
82 83 84 PD 81
86 87 88 PD 85
90 91 92 PD 89
94 95 96 PD 93
98 99 100 PD 97
102 103 104 PD 101
106 107 108 PD 105
110 111 112 PD 109
114 115 116 PD 113
118 119 120 PD 117
122 123 124 PD 121
126 127 128 PD 125
131 132 PD 129 130
135 136 PD 133 134
139 140 PD 137 138
143 144 PD 141 142
147 148 PD 145 146
151 152 PD 149 150
155 156 PD 153 154
159 160 PD 157 158
163 164 PD 161 162
167 168 PD 165 166
171 172 PD 169 170
175 176 PD 173 174
179 180 PD 177 178
183 184 PD 181 182
187 188 PD 185 186
191 192 PD 189 190
196 PD 193 194 195
200 PD 197 198 199
204 PD 201 202 203
208 PD 205 206 207
212 PD 209 210 211
216 PD 213 214 215
220 PD 217 218 219
224 PD 221 222 223
228 PD 225 226 227
232 PD 229 230 231
236 PD 233 234 235
240 PD 237 238 239
244 PD 241 242 243
248 PD 245 246 247
252 PD 249 250 251
256 PD 253 254 255
PD 257 258 259 260
PD 261 262 263 264
PD 265 266 267 268
PD 269 270 271 272
PD 273 274 275 276
PD 277 278 279 280
PD 281 282 283 284
PD 285 286 287 288
PD 289 290 291 292
PD 293 294 295 296
PD 297 298 299 300
PD 301 302 303 304
PD 305 306 307 308
PD 309 310 311 312
PD 313 314 315 316
PD 317 318 319 320

As soon I apply it, it turns to become RAID5E and its capacity it is not anymore the expected one,
with RAID5E it is subtracted the capacity of 2 drives instead than 1 only of RAID5, i.e. 5 drives 500GB each, expected is something less than 2TB, while RAID5E becomes something less than 1.5TB

What is wrong with it?

Thank you

Cor
Recupero Dati RAID - Recupero Dati Server
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Alt » Wed Aug 14, 2013 10:45 am

Can you send me the RAID description file to raptorbck (at) gmail (dot) com?
To create that file,
1 Click the More... button on Parents tab and select Save on the shortcut menu.
2 Specify the name for the configuration on the file name dialog box.

Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Corsari » Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:10 pm

Hello Alt

I've solved the RAID with my usual system, so at the moment the drives are not plugged.

Does that saving process require the drives to be connected?

Thank you for the clarification.

Cor
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Alt » Thu Aug 15, 2013 4:45 pm

Yes. You have to create the RAID once again.

Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Corsari » Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:49 pm

Ok

so I need to plug the drives, but I have saved that columns layout with the corresponding R-Studio option.

If it could be useful, let me know, otherwise I'll update you as soon I can plug the drives.

Sorry

Cor
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Alt » Sat Aug 17, 2013 6:53 am

If you saved it, you may send it to me, that'll be OK.

Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Corsari » Sun Aug 18, 2013 2:35 am

Here I have the .xml file.
For various reasons, I prefer to send it to you via email ;)
Please write me a PM with an email recipient where to address the email with the attachment
Kind regards
Cor
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Alt » Sun Aug 18, 2013 5:27 am

You may send it to raptorbck (at) gmail (dot) com.

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Alt » Tue Aug 20, 2013 2:03 pm

There's an error in the file. It states

Code: Select all

<Block id="A48">192</Block>
 <Block id="B48">192</Block>
whereas it should be

Code: Select all

<Block id="A48">191</Block>
 <Block id="B48">192</Block>
Actually, you can create RAIDs with parity delays with two clicks and one calculation: RAID5 with Parity Delays Operations, but it looks like there's a bug in the program, and this option isn't shown in the current version. We're fixing this bug with the most speed possible.

Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: RAID5 with custom parity turns to RAID5E

Post by Corsari » Tue Aug 20, 2013 4:29 pm

Hello Alt!

Thank you for your prompt and kind support!!!

Looks like that out of 400 entries... we did 1 wrong :mrgreen: :roll:

Since we always work with disks clones, never with customers original hard drives and we usually DOD wipe them 5 days after the data have been returned to customers, this time we kept the images and so we can repeat the reconstruction of the RAID with the fixed .xml file.

We will update you A.S.A.P.

Some parsing from the program, before the real apply-action would be needed though, since it would be expected some kind of warning/confirmation-request for such duplicated entry.

Kind regards

Cor
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

Post Reply