RAID 5 (hotspare)

Discussions on using the professional data recovery program R-STUDIO for RAID re-construction, NAS recovery, and recovery of various disk and volume managers: Windows storage spaces, Apple volumes, and Linux Logical Volume Manager.
Macnugget
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:40 am

RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Macnugget » Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:44 am

Hello.

How can i use the software with a raid system?
my LACIE 5big could be damaged!

So i have to rescue my data!

Can i do this with
http://www.r-studio.com/de/

thx 4 your help!

Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Corsari » Fri Jun 16, 2017 4:07 am

Hello!

The drives can be quite weared / old

So the issue mostly may have been caused by the drives age.

Check out our twitter for some pictures of LaCie Big recovered by us http://www.twitter.com/recuperodatiVR

The key point is to save the single drives cloning them with proper hardware devices (PC-3000) and for this stage, if you want, with few euros you can ship them to Verona (Italy) and we can do that. (Though, we can also recover the RAID if needed)

Next when you have the images of the original drives, you are on the safe side and you can do the experiments with R-Studio.

Possible problems that could avoid a successful recovery:
- you make trials with your original disks and you end up with killing some of them
- you make experiments with the NAS' control panel
- in a total no sense, you remove, re-plug, swap the position of some of the drives
- the file system is not supported by R-Studio

Last, read my guides below the signature

P.S. Data recovery services in Italy are much more money saver / cheaper than in Deutschland

:-)

Chus
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

Alt
Site Moderator
Posts: 2271
Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:13 pm
Contact:

Re: RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Alt » Fri Jun 16, 2017 6:40 am

Macnugget wrote: How can i use the software with a raid system?
my LACIE 5big could be damaged!

Can i do this with
http://www.r-studio.com/de/
You need to take the disks out of the case, connect them to a computer, create a virtual RAID5, and recover data from it.
These articles can help you: Data Recovery from a Simple NAS, RAID Recovery Presentation.
First, check the SMART status of the disks.
If you have enough free disk space, I'd recommend you to create images of the disks and do file recovery from those images.

Macnugget
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:40 am

Re: RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Macnugget » Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:00 am

There are No Problems with the Disks!!

It could be that the Nas itself is broken!

I have to wait for a new Power supply to See what is broken. This will Take a few weeks!
Then i have to look hier i could get my data Back!

Which data revovery service Jan i use in Italien?

Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Corsari » Fri Jun 16, 2017 7:27 am

R-Studio allows to check SMART status

It It worth to give it a check.

If drives are healthy, the only issue could be the filesystem

If you don't find folders and files names, here we can help.
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

Data-Medics
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:13 am
Location: Providence, RI USA
Contact:

Re: RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Data-Medics » Fri Jun 16, 2017 9:30 pm

Macnugget wrote:There are No Problems with the Disks!!
Then why isn't the NAS working? HDDs are the most prone to failure part of any computer component. Multiply that times 5 (since you've got 5 drives) and that's the likelihood that at least one, if not two of your drives have issues. Most often when a NAS or RAID fails it's due to a failed drive. Failed controlles / NAS boards are far less likely. R-TT mod was giving you sound advice for recovery, you really should try listening.

It's possible that it's just logical corruption of the NAS's boot partition, but that hasn't been my experience with Lacie 5 Big enclosures.

Also, I'm pretty sure those use XFS (if memory serves me correctly) which R-Studio doesn't support. So I'm afraid you might not be able to recover it using R-Studio.

Corsari
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Aug 14, 2013 4:18 am

Re: RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Corsari » Sat Jun 17, 2017 12:18 am

Hi DataMedics

Macnugget explained that the issue is the power supply, dead.

A common failure with LaCie 5 Big.

Yes, where I talk about possible issues with the filesystem, I mean exactly that.
Robert
Technical Manager @ Recupero Dati RAID FAsTec (Italy)

USEFUL RULES and GUIDELINES
1) What to check BEFORE begin a disk image/clone process [link]
2) Disks that are too slow while imaging/cloning them [link]
3) All my posts on this forum [link]

Data-Medics
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:13 am
Location: Providence, RI USA
Contact:

Re: RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Data-Medics » Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:25 pm

He never said that. He said: "my LACIE 5big could be damaged!" and "It could be that the Nas itself is broken!"

He mentioned he was waiting for a power supply but for all we know, it's because he lost the power supply or just wants to rule that out before proceeding.

Macnugget
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2017 2:40 am

Re: RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Macnugget » Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:51 pm

Data-Medics wrote:He never said that. He said: "my LACIE 5big could be damaged!" and "It could be that the Nas itself is broken!"

He mentioned he was waiting for a power supply but for all we know, it's because he lost the power supply or just wants to rule that out before proceeding.
Yes!

I wait 4 the new powersupply!
Ans then i have to look if it works or not!

Then i have to look how to rescue my Data with working hdds! But ist is in a RAID 5 with hotspare!and thats my Problem! Yes i want to rule Out!

Data-Medics
Posts: 148
Joined: Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:13 am
Location: Providence, RI USA
Contact:

Re: RAID 5 (hotspare)

Post by Data-Medics » Sun Jun 18, 2017 12:57 pm

With the old power supply, were the drives spinning up?

Post Reply